a doctor tries to practice what she preaches to lose weight

5 Tips For Weight Loss

I mentioned in my earlier post my homework for fat 2 fit was to list my 5 top weight loss tips. That I can do. I have lost weight before so some of these tips are old. I just have to focus on keeping them up.

  • Log your food.
  • Plan our meals
  • Variety in food and exercise
  • Get your 5 fruits and vegetables
  • Keep the Faith

Now I can write a whole post on each of these alone.  I won’t to that now I’ll just list my best ideas in each area. This is stuff I actually do now.

Log your food this has so much easier with my iPhone. I use Livestong.com. There is a iPhone app and web site. The important part is to really log everything the best you can. It has a great list of foods. If I can’t find something I look for the closest thing. I measure or weight my food because portion size is a must. I’m honest when I snack because at this age I realise I’m only lying to myself if I cheat.It doesn’t me I don’t eat ice cream I just count it. Logging exercise is harder. Initially  I was using the Livestrong calculators but that was just too high of a calorie count. I eventually bought a strap on heart monitor. It a polar f something. I will talk about that later. It give an accurate calorie count.

Plan your meals The biggest thing for me is to take my lunch and snacks to work.  If I’m not working I keep snacks in my purse.  I keep easy stuff to fix for dinner. Planning my dinners on weekend and do my grocery shopping. I have also picked a few healthy fast food meals for when I’m on the run.

I’ll go over the next things in my next post.

Comments on: "5 Tips For Weight Loss" (4)

  1. Good information, thanks for posting that. I have bookmarked your site and will come back to see what else you have to say. Losing weight is so challenging for me that the more information I have the better: there are so many ideas and people to learn from. Looking forward to coming back and learning some more to help make a difference to my body weight. David

  2. Great stuff Dr Kay, just simple and real. Looks like you’re impacting the grown-ups on the web and the kids in your office – keep it up! Eric

  3. […] 5 Tips For Weight Loss (drkaylosesweight.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

