a doctor tries to practice what she preaches to lose weight

Homework

I’m doing homework wow! Sparkpeople.com has a great series Mind Over Body. It’s a 10 part series that discusses weight loss. I recommend it for everyone. Wether you want to lose weight or help someone else lose. The link for this is http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/wellness_articles.asp?id=695. I’m writing my vision statement tonight. This is really powerful. Why do you really want to lose weight? Is losing weight really your goal? I never thought if it that way. I guess the number on the scale isn’t the important thing. I must admit my reason for wanting to lose weight is different from when I was younger. Before I wanted to look cute and fit in cute clothes. Now I still want to look nice but now I really want to avoid diabetes. I want to stay youthful and be active.  I want to avoid aches and pains that are improving now that I’m exercising on a regular basis.  I want to keep up with my child. I want to be a good role model for my patients.

The article recommends asking yourself how you want to look in 1 year,5 years etc. In 1 year I want to be able to test for my red belt in Tae Kwon Do.  I want higher kicks. I want to break boards.  I want to get rid of the chicken fat on my arms and my double chin. In 5 years I want to have  had my black belt in tae Kwon do for a few years.

The article also recommends  that your Vision Statement should tell you what else (besides your weight) needs to change within yourself and your life to help you get from where you are now to where you want to be. That’s a hard one. I’m where I want to be in life. I’ve always wanted to be a doctor ,wife and mom or do I? I definitely want to be the mom and wife . The doctor thing I need to think about.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

