a doctor tries to practice what she preaches to lose weight

Bmr? I’m puzzled

Ok I get that I need to know my bmr to figure out how many calories I need. Lots of web sites have Bmr calculators. My problem is figuring out my activity level. I know I’m not sedentary but am I active or light active. I’m on my feet daily but sit at my desk at times. I don’t want to add my exercise calories I want to do that separate. On myfittnesspal.com it gives examples of a nurse or mailman. If I was a nurse it would be 1550 or something like that, a mailman 1700 something. I’m a doctor. I think I move more that my nurse because I work in an office. I have patients scheduled all the time. If I was hospital then no I don’t move that much. I get 1800 cals with fat2fitradio bmr calculator. How do I know what is right? Help? I wish I had one if those body buggs or fit bitsthings but I wouldn’t use it all the time. I would just want to borrow one. I could do trial & error. I guess that’s what I’m doing now. I was at lower setting and scale slowed. I then increased calories and weight went down again. Now stuck but I admit I haven’t been eating my calories. It’s all so confusing! Help! What ever happened to eat less exercise more. No one ever tells you about the fine line of eating to little or too much. If anyone has good ideas let me know 😉

Comments on: "Bmr? I’m puzzled" (2)

  1. hey! i’m one of those people who can’t stop telling people about how much i love my bodybugg. you WILL use it all the time if you get one, i promise. not only does it show you your BMR – your REAL BMR, not just a good guess based on an internet calculator, but you can see, in real time, how many calories you’ve burned so you can adjust your eating and exercising accordingly!

    i was having the hardest time losing weight before i got my bodybugg. i always thought i was eating less than i was, working out harder than i thought, etc., but now i know for sure, and the scale has moved more quickly in these past couple of months that i’ve had it than in the entire year before it!

    that said, if you really don’t think you’ll use it, then i would just use the average between light active and active. some days you probably are more active than others (without counting exercise), so just eat a little bit more those days. good luck!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

