a doctor tries to practice what she preaches to lose weight

Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil Giveaway

Image by Chiot

Ok is it Olive Oil, Coconut oil, butter ? I’m confused. I know we need healthy fats but I am clueless on which is best for what. I generally use Olive Oil in a spray can. I spritz veggies or use in a pan for nonstick. I love to use on salads. When would I use coconut oil? I don’t fry foods. Is it healthy or just the latest fad? I read conflicting views. Use in everything or its loaded in saturated fats and don’t use. I have noticed it in my daughters popcorn oil. We make homemade popcorn it’s so good but will it go with eggs or in a salad? I’m part of the low-fat for weight loss generation so I finally get how fats are healthy . I love avocado and nut butters but this coconut oil thing is puzzling me. I hear you should use organic unrefined coconut oil. This is one of those post that has more questions than answers. Help?

Comments on: "Coconut Oil? I’m Confused!" (6)

  1. i feel the same way! i am unsure about coconut oil!

  2. Dear Mary,

    Healthy fats it is a confusing topic for everyone. Especially when it comes to saturated fats. What is theory, what is fact? You are doing the right thing by mixing your healthy fats, in the end it is all about balance and respecting your bio-individuality. One shoe size does not fit all!

    It is interesting that at the turn of the last century, saturated fats such as coconut oil were advertised as healthy. Saturated fats were the preferred choice until the mid-20th century. They were recommended for treating serious medical conditions, such as tuberculosis and epilepsy. Then all of a sudden, we were told to cut saturated fats from our diet if we wanted to maintain healthy weight, have good cholesterol and prevent heart disease. Marketers of low-fat foods championed the cause and few people questioned why foods eaten for centuries suddenly were causing heart disease. While medical experts claimed “fats are good” prior to World War II, we heard just the opposite in the years that followed. The vegetable and seed oil industry stepped up production because tropical oils couldn’t be shipped during World War II.

    I can go on and on instead I will give you these resources for your reference, you will find the skinny on fats and much more.

    Books (Your public library might have them available):
    “Nourishing Traditions”, by Sally Fallon
    “Know Your Fats”, by Mary G. Enig, PhD
    “Eat Fat Lose Fat” by Dr. Mary Enig and Sally Fallon

    Informative Web sites:

    The Weston Price Foundation
    http://www.westonaprice.org/

    Price-Pottenger Nutrition Foundation
    http://www.ppnf.org/catalog/ppnf/index.htm

    Dr. Mercola-Take Control of Your Health
    http://www.mercola.com/

    coconutoil.com

    Articles
    http://www.westonaprice.org/know-your-fats

    http://www.westonaprice.org/know-your-fats/526-skinny-on-fats

    Thank you for your post and I wish you the best in your journey!

    In health,
    Nina
    NutriSpire

  3. […] Coconut Oil? I’m Confused! (drkaylosesweight.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

