a doctor tries to practice what she preaches to lose weight

As my blog name says I am a doctor. I have been a pediatrician for 15 years. Being a pediatrician means my patients will out grow me. When you turn 18 you start being seen by the adult doctors. I recently ran into a patient. She is in early twenties. Its been ages since I’ve seen her. The last time was she was getting a tour at the gym. I ran into her in town. I said hi and asked how was the gym going since it was the last place I seen her. She said she had stopped going but acknowledged she needed to go back. She informed me that she was now on medication for high cholesterol and type 2 diabetes. She has always been significantly overweight and we talked about it for years. I was sad to see it reached this point. She told me she know’s she needs to lose weight but it was hard with working. I told her she had to do it for her future health. I asked if she knew that she didn’t have to be on medication forever. If she bought her weight down she could get off meds. I shared with her my recent weight loss and how I bought both my cholesterol and glucose down. I told her If I can do it as a 43 y/o working mom I know she can do it. She told me that’s what she missed about me being her doctor. I wouldn’t let her feel sorry herself. This is not my first time losing weight but I hope its my last. I have had several excuses in my life time but I am running out. I hope to pass what I learn to my patients. It’s never to late.

Comments on: "It’s Never To Late To Be Healthy!" (3)

  1. it is clearly a life style change. if you don’t replace unhealthy behavior with something new people will just gain the weight back and it can be a life long cycle………i think you got it down this time girl……the blogging community is a huge help!

  2. […] This is a great post from a colleague and on-line inspiration, DrKayLosesWeight. Success shared can help others succeed. Our stories can change people’s lives. Do you have a success story with healthy living that you want to share? Let me know and I’ll brag on you too! As my blog name says I am a doctor. I have been a pediatrician for 15 years. Being a pediatrician means my patients will out grow me. When you turn 18 you start being seen by the adult doctors. I recently ran into a patient. She is in early twenties. Its been ages since I’ve seen her. The last time was she was getting a tour at the gym. I ran into her in town. I said hi and asked how was the gym going since it was the last place I seen her. She s … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

