a doctor tries to practice what she preaches to lose weight

I’m still conventioning. Today I went to the Women’s Health section. The morning focused on reproductive health over 40. Thank goodness I don’t want another child because the results of the studies for over 40 are dismal. The rest of the morning focused on obesity & stress. They payed particular attention to women physicians and how we take care of our selves. We need to take care of ourselves to take care of others. This is a general principle for all women. Some of the solutions were to realize women need women. The Gaston Portor Group has 12 week sister circles where women focus on stress and obesity. Another group on Detroit formed DOCSS. It’s a female Christian doctor group that meets to have fun,fellowship and food. I also enjoyed a talk by Dr Carol Scott of Optimal Stress. It was great to be in the company of my peers talking about how we can help ourselves for a change rather than a patient. As female doctors we tend to forget ourselves. Putting God first and me second before all others is my new motto. It sounds selfish but if I don’t take care of myself I can’t take care of others.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

