a doctor tries to practice what she preaches to lose weight

Dairy & Gluten Free

I’m thinking of trying dairy and gluten-free. Since I’ve been back from my vacation I have this gas bloating feeling. These symptoms are not new. I just thought it was milk. I know I’m lactose intolerant so I usually try to avoid cheese except feta and I stick to Greek yogurt but not very strict about it. The diet plans I’ve read made me think more about the gluten thing. I have joint pain (but only in weight-bearing areas knees, hips , ankles) gas , bloating, and fatigue. These are all vague symptoms which can be caused by many things. I think the dairy , gluten-free challenge might be worth a try. If it doesn’t help I’ll gradually add back. I don’t believe in restricting food groups. A good challenge should last two weeks. This doesn’t mean I’m going to buy gluten-free stuff. There are lots of gluten-free food that’s healthy. Fruits,veggies, quinoa, brown rice.  I already eat these things so not a problem. I’ve got some planning to do so I won’t start until next week. Anybody on dairy or gluten-free diet.?

Comments on: "Dairy & Gluten Free" (8)

  1. Doc, read The PLan on my blog……ginger & a ton of omega 3’s for the inflammation….stick to whole foods from http://www.whfoods.com…….I had all the same symptoms you have plus more….all gone in 2 month & I lost 35lbs…..I do not eat any gralins except corn chips ……. google wheat allergy induced arthritis………you are right not to eliminate food groups unless you are allergic….good luck……

  2. Kalli and Bill said:

    i have been turning more gluten free and to tell you the truth i do feel better! try it 🙂

  3. Retired woman said:

    My daughter was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis almost two years ago at the age of 28. She was placed on chemotherapy to try to control the pain and inflammation. It worked to some extent but the side effects were scary!
    She became a vegetarian a year ago but three months ago, she removed dairy, gluten and eggs from her diet. She is now completely pain free! She is off all medications and has NO symptoms of arthritis at all!

  4. […] Dairy & Gluten Free (drkaylosesweight.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Dairy & Gluten Free (drkaylosesweight.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

