a doctor tries to practice what she preaches to lose weight

I searched my small town and found plenty of gluten-free products in the larger chain stores. Raley’s had the best choice. I found gluten-free waffles, crackers,pancake mix, cookies, and pasta. The problem is I usually don’t eat those things. I’m really not a big starch girl. I see it is easy to be gluten-free and not healthy. Many of the foods were just empty calories. I plan to do gluten-free the healthy way. I usually eat egg white omelette with veggies for breakfast. I throw in a whole wheat tortilla and turkey or chicken sausage. I switched to a brown rice tortilla. Kind of crumbly but not bad. I did brown and wild rice for lunch and dinner. This is one of my usual choices so not really a big deal. I like my frozen meals for lunch.That eliminated my Kashi frozen meals. I guess I will have to make lunch which I was planning to do anyway. I didn’t realize the dairy was such a big thing either .I accidentally bought spinach feta sausage. Oh well. I will pay closer attention next time. So far so good.  One lesson learned already. Read labels! Gluten free does not always mean healthy.

Comments on: "Gluten & Dairy Free Day 1" (2)

  1. Kalli and Bill said:

    so true! gluten free is not always healthy….and i agree about the brown rice tortillas…..crumbly but good 😉

  2. […] Continued here: Gluten & Dairy Free Day 1 « drkaylosesweight […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

